Kailyn Lowry Reveals Details of Her Childhood & Dealing with Her Mother’s Alcoholism

10277463_552639204852403_4615453451320961067_n

In Kailyn Lowry’s recently released memoir ‘Pride Over Pity’ she opens up about her past and what it was like dealing with her mother being an alcoholic. Kailyn reveals that her mother would abandon her for days on end. “I remember being dropped off at friends’ houses and sometimes not getting a phone call for what seemed like days. In those times, when she would disappear for days without warning, I’d wonder if I would ever see her again.”

In order to deal with her unstable home life Kailyn, like many other people in her situation, turned to drugs and violence. “Smoking pot became the hobby I’d never had as a little girl. It made me feel like I was part of a group,” Kailyn wrote. “But it didn’t take away the hurt or fury I was holding onto. Anyone I disagreed with would get attitude from me. I talked back to teachers, peers, anyone who rubbed me the wrong way. Occasionally, I got physical and would throw a punch.

Thankfully as Kailyn got older and faced challenge after challenge she turned into a beautiful and strong young woman. She strives to raise her children right and give them better than the life she had. It’s not without worry though that she could fall back into making bad decisions in the future. “I’ve seen what can happen when you’re addicted to alcohol,” she wrote. “I’m afraid the same addiction runs through my blood.” I highly doubt that Kailyn would ever do the things she says her mother did, and the fact that she is cautious about alcohol tells me she never will.

One thought on “Kailyn Lowry Reveals Details of Her Childhood & Dealing with Her Mother’s Alcoholism”

  1. I won’t tell you anything new, but it is the same in any other field.
    You would think experience teaches us at least anything, but no.
    Hate all you want but the world is changing, and we have no control whatsoever over it.
    E.g., If only Obama had any balls to put Vladimir to his place, but it seems like it’s never happening, welcome third world war.
    Great post, thanks!
    Sarah http://phyto-renew350i.com/

Leave a Reply

